When I Was Alive

When I was alive, I was young and strong and pure of want and dance and tear.
When. I was alive, I was fresh as dawn’s dew in summer’s grass;
hips soaking, drip dropping down me;
socks drooping, skulking beneath slippery feet;
shoes, full of pre-pollen green, toes stuck to; dew.
So cold and so alive, when I was alive.
I touched you like only songs sweet of birds early can bear to; do.

And stealing through the field of love’s waking
and young tongue’s seeking and finding.
Oh how I grew and oh how you glistened.
I listened and you threw yourself upon me.
“Tell me that you love we; too…”

And when I was alive, I was so completely alive,
even the stars seized their singing and turned,
to shed their shining upon me and; you.

Leave a Reply

